Vedic Astrology

We all know what astrology is and how it can influence our lives. It is an important and elaborate ancient science in which astrologers study the movement of stars and planets with specific reference to ascertain their impact and influence on our lives and well-being. It has three main systems-- Vedic, Western and Chinese. Of these, the Vedic system of astrology from India is thought to be the most popular and is believed to be highly accurate by many.

Vedic astrology is independent of the inter-relationship of the Sun and earth. It is based on the position of stars, constellations, planets and their relations with each other. This is drawn from the scientifically validated hypothesis that the earth not only rotates around the Sun but also revolves on its axis, which makes it more accurate than the other methods of astrology.

The Twelve Zodiac Signs of Indian Vedic Astrology
In Vedic astrology, there are twelve zodiac signs, called the twelve "Rashis" in the Hindi language. Each Rashi is ruled by a planet and manifests certain special attributes and personality traits bestowed by that governing planet. In Vedic astrology, calculations are performed on the basis of which zodiac sign in which the Moon was placed at the time of birth of an individual. Unlike Sun signs, Janma Rashi or the Moon sign reveals facts regarding the inner personality and mindset of an individual. This data is used to decipher what decisions individuals may take during their lives.

Planets play an important role in an individual's life. Apart from the main planets in the solar system, Rahu and Ketu, the two heavenly bodies revered in Indian astrology and the two nodes where the Moon's elliptical path crosses that of the earth are also important.

Kundali and Vedic Astrology
The birth chart prepared on the basis of the date, time and place of birth is called the "Kundali" or birth chart. The Kundali is given the utmost importance in the Vedic system of astrology and is used to predict the future of an individual. Vedic astrologers also use various divisional charts to diagnose any negative influences the planets may engender in the past, present or future. Astrologers then suggest effective remedies to curb, or even eliminate, if possible, this form of negativity. At the time of wedding, Kundali matching is an important ritual in which the birth charts of both the bride and the bridegroom are assessed and matched for compatibility. A Kundali has twelve houses. Each house is ruled by a different planet. Since there are only nine astrologically recognized planets from a Vedic astrological perspective, some of the houses in a kundali are bound to remain vacant. Each house represents a specific aspect of our lives and a certain part of our body. For instance, the first house, called the "Lagnasthan," represents physical appearance, complexion, character and the extent to which human beings experience challenges of varying kinds and degrees. This house rules the human head and face.

Dashas in Vedic Astrology
Vedic Astrology is based on the belief that whatever happens to us is the result of our past karmas. The planets and stars work accordingly to respond to our past deeds. The Dashas in Vedic astrology show us how the Karma unfolds in our lives. Although Vedic astrology revolves around multiple systems of negative conditions or "Dashas," the Vimshottari Dasha is considered the most prominent one. It uses a 120 year cycle in which each planet is the ruler for a specific number of years.

The importance of Muhurtha in Vedic Astrology
Vedic astrology not only predicts our future but also helps us with Muhurtha determination. "Muhurtha" can be best described as the auspicious time to perform important actions or events of life. This date and time is determined after a careful and meticulous calculation of the planetary position of the Moon in your Kundali or birth chart. Vedic astrology also helps to counter the malefic effects of planets placed unfavorably in the birth chart.

Kundali, Dasha and Muhurtha are a few petals in the bouquet of flowers that Vedic Astrology has to offer. It is a fact-based science that helps us to learn about the planetary effects on our mental and physical well-being. It helps us to determine our place in the cosmos and live in harmony with heavenly bodies.